Pumpkin English Muffin Bread

Like I mentioned, I cannot find the pumpkin bagel thins or english muffins for the life of me.

I did see the big bagels at Wal-Mart, but at 270 calories each… I couldn’t justify them. I wouldn’t eat them because unless I had them for dinner, they would be too many calories for any other meal or snack.

Enter in Pumpkin English Muffin Bread from the lovely Jessica @ How Sweet It Is (one of my favorite blogs, ever! And I’ve tried countless recipes (all amazing).

I omitted the butter, simply because I don’t have enough calories self control. I’m sure it’s amazing though- so if you can “afford” it calorie wise. Go for it. Jealous.

This is one of the easiest and tastiest quick bread recipes I’ve had. It tastes like a legit english muffin with a little hint of sweetness from the pumpkin and fall spice. My BF who isn’t really a pumpkin fan even liked it.

In fact, I just had one for breakfast this morning. Still amazing two days later. Go now and make this. The recipe below makes one loaf with 12 hearty slices.

Pumpkin English Muffin Bread

Adapted from How Sweet It Is

pumpkin english muffin bread

  • 1.5 C All-Purpose flour
  • 1 C Whole Wheat flour
  • 1/4 C pumpkin
  • 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 packet of active dry yeast
  • 1/2 T honey
  • 1/4 T extra virgin olive oil
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1/4 tsp of baking soda
  • 1 C warm milk (I used skim) 120-130 degrees [warmed in micro for about 45 seconds]
  • 1/4 C warm water – 120-130 degrees [warmed in micro for about 30 seconds]
  • Cornmeal for sprinkling

1. Grease or spray bread pan. Sprinkle with cornmeal and dump out excess.

2. In a kitchen-aid  mixer with beater attachement- add flours, yeast, spice and baking soda. Mix together.

3. Heat up the water and milk until they reach 120-130 degrees. Pour in the bowl with dry ingredients. Quickly add the honey, olive oil and pumpkin mixing on “Low” until combined.

4. Once combined, beat on High speed for about 3 minutes. Dough will be sticky.

5. Add in salt and beat on high for about 15 more seconds.

6. Transfer dough to greased loaf pan, sprinkle cornmeal on top. Cover and let rise for about 45-60 minutes. I placed my loaf pan on top of the oven that was cooling down from the apple pie so it was very warm. I let it rise for about 60 minutes and it more than doubled in size. About 40 minutes into the rising process, preheat oven to 375 degrees.

7. Bake for about 30-35 minutes (I baked for 30) or until golden brown on top.

I accidentally didn’t follow Jessica’s directions 100%, and halved her recipe. It still came out wonderful (thank goodness). I enjoyed one piece right out of the oven with a little butter and it was heavenly. I’ve really been enjoying it toasted though, too.

The nutritionals aren’t that bad either!

Approximate nutritionals based on one loaf with 12 slices/servings: Calories- 106, Total Fat-.7 g, Sodium- 12.1 g, Total Carbs- 21.5 g, Sugars 1.9 g, Protein 3.8 g.

3 thoughts on “Pumpkin English Muffin Bread

Talk To Me!

