WIAW: Thanksgiving Withdrawl

You guys. I am so disappointed that I did not come home with any Thanksgiving leftovers besides turkey – which is why I’m dedicating this WIAW to my Thanksgiving Withdrawls. I had a FULL plate of pies and tiramisu that was supposed to be taken back with me to Minnesota, but the BF reasoned “we don’t need it.” I tried to counteract that with “but I want it” but it didn’t work. My heart was telling me take the plate but my mind said no. Lesson learned: always follow your heart. But seriously. ;)

First, a little confession: I had the best intentions of doing a WIAW while I was at home, but my eats were so. messed. up. Like weird times, weird food, lots of snackity snacks in replace of meals. And I was too busy enjoying family and friend time to photograph anything. I’ll try harder over Christmas when I’m home for another 5 days but I can’t promise anything.

Another confession: my thanksgiving withdrawls doesn’t have as much to do with food as it does with family. I miss them already. It’s hard being away from them.

WIAWT: Thanksgiving Withdrawls

Thanks to Jenn at Peas & Crayons for hosting!

4:45 a.m. Insanity Cardio + Cardio Abs Workout

But totally wishing this was done in my parents house instead of my apartment. Also wishing that I could follow it up with a day of fun activities and maybe some outdoor runs with nice weather.

7:15 Breakfast

Baked oatmeal with about a 1/2 TB of Plantar’s Nutrition Cinnamon Raisin PB. Still LOVING this breakfast.  I even made it once while I was home. I can’t get enough.

Love the raisins in the PB mix. Delicious.

Wishing this was enjoyed in one of my mom’s cute ramikins instead of one of my bowls. Also wishing that I had all the time in the world to prepare this instead of rushing to get it in before work. :) I’m also wishing this was a bite of pie and/or slice of a pumpkin cream cheese roll. Yes, that did happen for breakfast one or two times while I was home.

10:30 Snack #1

I had planned on bringing a shake to enjoy, because I’m sick of my regular snacks… and after searching for my magic bullet blade for about, ohhh… 20 minutes making me late for work mixing it all together in the blender and taking a quick taste I realized it was too watered down and it wasn’t appealing. So instead, I had about 1/2 TB of more PB from breakfast and a few almonds.

So delicious! I just wish it came in a bigger container.

Repeat photo. I had 3 this time instead of 4.

Over break I didn’t worry about snacks. I didn’t have any snacks planned or anything. I went with the flow and it was SO nice not to have to prepare so many meals for a day. I actually didn’t even snack in between meals. Besides the pretzels and cranberry mustard dip. ohmygoshthatstuffiskiller.

12:10 p.m. Lunch

Leftover Turkey Noodle Soup from Monday night’s dinner (I didn’t create a meal plan for this week and it’s killing me. I’ve already been to the grocery store two times this week). Perfect recipe to use up the turkey I brought from home. This soup is delicous.  I will definitely make this again. I followed the recipe almost exactly except increasing the proportions of a few ingredients.

Yellow does NOT photograph well. But the bowls are just too cute! And yes, this is the same bowl from breakfast. :)

I managed to grab the turkey from home but somehow forgot my blowdryer? Priorities.

With a side cup of red grapes (unpictured).

Yum, yum.

2:55 Snack #2

Greek yogurt with 1/2 of an apple and cinnamon. I’m still not sick of this yet.

Recycled photo- but it looked exactly like this!

Now I’m wondering why I wasn’t so hungry when I was at home? I’d go way more than 3 hours without eating and not even get to the state of ravenous bitch. Maybe it’s because I was eating more calories on a daily basis? Either way, today I’m RAVENOUS by the time today’s afternoon snack rolled around.

6:30 Dinner

Spaghetti Squash Bake

If you look really close, you can see the squash strands. Other than that- looks like a baked pasta dish!

My FIRST TIME trying spaghetti squash. The squash was a little crunchy… definitely didn’t taste exactly like pasta, but what do you expect? It’s a substitute. I did enjoy this meal though… The BF requested his be made with regular pasta. So I used lean beef, regular pasta, spaghetti sauce, ricotta and more mozzarella for his. After he tried the squash, though he actually declared he almost liked my “pasta” dish better than his! I was shocked. :)

In the mix:

  • Cooked spaghetti squash
  • 1/2 C pasta sauce
  • about 3 oz of ground turkey
  • 1/8 C low fat ricotta
  • about an 1/8 C of low fat mozzarella cheese
  • parmesean for sprinkling.

I layered it in a dish (sauce, squash, ricotta cheese, repeat then mozzarella), and than baked it about about 20 minutes at 375. Paired with a side of broccoli for extra veggies. T’was delicious (so lame)! Now I a way to use the rest of the squash… I have a lot leftover (plain) and I even picked the smallest (baby) squash at the store ’cause I wasn’t sure if I’d like it.

I left this little chunk. Too full to finish!

If only my family knew how different I eat at home vs. when I come visit. I think they’d be shocked! I wish I could cook for them though… I think it shocks them all how much I like to cook.

8:15 Snack #3

Chocolate (unpictured).

Even though I had a big dinner, I managed to sneak in two squares of milk chocolate sea salt and almonds from Ghiradelli. Delicious. Oh, and several tastes of coconut butter (addicted) and a few chocolate chips. My appetite was ragin’.

Wishing this chocolate was pie. Or tiramisu. Really, I’m not picky.

Approximate nutritionals: Because I didn’t finish dinner and had a few bites of Chris’s dish along with undocumented coconut butter, I’m going to guess that my calories were aroung 1250-1300. I didn’t track as closely as I usually do (partly because I was so hungry). But I do know I got a litle more fats in than usual (about 27% and a good ratio of carbs and protein).

A short story to finish: After the Fitmixer bootcamp ended, I contacted them saying I would love to give a testimonial if they wanted one. I love the company and products so much and I know how important testimonials and reviews are (because I’m in online marketing). After a while, they asked if I’d be willing to do a video review of their bootcamp with before and after photos. I SO want to do this because I’m a Fitmixer advocate (not getting compensated for this at all). I’m a little nervous of posting my before photos and taking “After” shots because I don’t really feel like I’m where I want to be. I’m still going to work on it though, and plan on getting it done this weekend. I really want everyone to know how awesome the bootcamp is and how it truly changed my healthy-living lifestyle. After so many years of stuggling with food and fitness, I’m finally feeling confident with my body and crave to eat healthier. It’s so, so, SO amazing! Stay tuned :)

Say Your Peace :)

