Fit Challenge + WIAW

Hello! I am warning you that this is a monster of a post…

I think it’s clear that I love challenges. When my CF box sent an email with the Fit Physique Challenge details, I knew I was “in.” There was a little buy in and it was a little bit more to get the meal program app… which I have wanted to experiment with anyway. I thought about it for a week or so because I know with challenges it’s easy for me to get wrapped up in the contest and old, obsessive habits reappear, making it an unhealthy situation. So, I took my time to really decide if I wanted to do it. I was enjoying my food freedom and breaking myself of any food rules.

I talked to Chris about it, and he agreed that I should do it (because it’s right up my alley) as long as I don’t stress or obsess about it. Done deal! I told him that I was planning to be dedicated, but not stress or obsess and he promised he would bring it to my attention if that happens.

Another part of me really wanting to do the challenge was wanting to be involved in our box. One big reason of joining CF was the community, and I want to be active in it. Kind of like when you go to college, they tell you to join clubs, groups and be involved in campus activities because it enhances your experience. It’s the same thing.

For the challenge I needed (1) before pictures (2) body fat measurement (3) weight.

Yikes.

Monday was the first day I have weighed myself since….. last August maybe? I had about 5 minutes of freaking out.

How do I weigh that much?

That’s the heaviest I have been, almost ever.

Then there was some rationalizing.

Well, it’s late in the day. I’ll weigh myself tomorrow morning.

I do have all my clothes on.

I just worked out and lifted heavy weights, normally right after a weight workout I am heavy.

When it came time for body fat measurement, I was really interested to see what it was. When I was at one of my lightest points, heavy into Insanity and P90X my body fat was 26.6% (“Average”). I remember getting that result and being pretty devastated.

Yesterday, at my heaviest… my body fat was about 22% (“Fitness”). I was actually proud of that number. It’s also proof that the scale doesn’t matter. Just for curiosity’s sake… I stepped on the scale this morning and saw a slightly lower number, but still a higher one than I have seen in years. It won’t ruin my day. Would I like to lose some weight? Sure, but mostly I am looking to lose body fat. I want to be as healthy and fit as I can be (while still having a life) and the number on the scale doesn’t determine that.

A little bit about the meal plan:

  • It tells you exactly what to have at each meal.
  • It’s the “Zone Diet” and I am on 10 blocks. I want to try and make this more “paleo” friendly and sub some of the carb sources (quinoa) for veggies. I’m keeping sprouted wheat bread though because I love it. <3
  • Calorie goal (not that I count) is 1500.
  • They want you to follow exactly what is on the plan. I already did the majority of grocery shopping for the week so I had to make subs based on what I have in the house.

Meal One: 6AM

ground turkey, Ezekiel + 1/2 T almond butter + broccoli + strawberries

2014-06-17 06.01.34

un-pictured and not on the plan… chameleon cold brew + almond coconut milk + stevia. I thought about cutting this out but then decided that no level of fitness is worth giving up coffee :)

[had almond butter instead of almonds. eating dry toast wasn't appealing.]

Meal Two: 9AM

protein powder + almond milk (not on plan) + coffee + egg whites = blended together.

slice of sprouted wheat cinnamon raisin bread and 1 T almond butter

2014-06-17 08.56.39

[instead of 1/2 of an Ezekiel cinnamon raisin English muffin]

Meal Three: 11:30AM

chicken breast + roasted brussels sprouts

2014-06-17 11.22.53

[instead of quinoa and spinach. I combined macros because I wasn't feeling spinach or quinoa :)]

Meal Four: 2:15 PM [unpictured)

ground turkey + avocado + snap peas

[snap peas instead of green beans and avo instead of almonds]

CF WORKOUT 4PM

Meal Five: 5:30PM

Chicken + sweet potatoes + asparagus + a few baby carrots

2014-06-17 17.31.40

Meal Six: 7PM

1 scoop protein + egg whites + almond milk/water + 1/4 Ezekiel muffin and almond butter

2014-06-17 18.39.03

(yeah, sorry for that terrible photo.)

Thoughts: Although they say to eat as closely to the plan as you can, like I mentioned, I want to sub veggies for quinoa/brown rice when I can. I also am not a huge fan on eating raw almonds, so I will sub there sometimes, too.

It was kind of “scary” to eat all of these carbs. For so long I have been doing “low carb” (and I use that loosely because I eat a ton of vegetables) because that’s the eating style I was introduced to in FFP. So, it’s interesting because I feel like it’s opposite.

My plan is lower fat because of my goals. I love my fats, but I don’t feel deprived. I think once I get to a place where I want to maintain (and I set a super healthy and realistic goal “weight”) then the plan will be altered and I can add in more.

While I want to be dedicated to the challenge, I have identified a few opportunities where I think it’s “worth it” to indulge. This weekend, for example. The BF and I have a date in Tucson to see Jersey Boys and we will go out to dinner and probably have dessert. Also, when my parents and Chris’s sister visit… I will set aside a few occasions where we go out to eat and I don’t eat the exact ratios or eating something that’s not on the plan. I’m not going to worry about it and plan on indulging with “no stings attached.” :)

Apparently I had a lot to say today.

Have a fab Wednesday!

2 thoughts on “Fit Challenge + WIAW

  1. This is super interesting! I think for awhile I thought I had to be a certain number (and gosh still do) but have been more focused on just eating “clean” according to my standards and becoming more fit. It’s interesting to look back at times where I still didn’t think I was in a good place and yet I was either smaller/lighter than I am today. My gym girlfriends and I were just talking about this last night!

    It’s a process and I think challenges are awesome! I’d like to challenge myself to cut out more sweets but don’t think cutting out coffee is in my future :) Can’t wait to hear more about it!

    • I agree. I have always heard about how people weigh more and yet they are more fit/toned… but never thought it really applied to me. It just further proves that the scale is bullshit. :)

      I totally agree with you about looking back. No matter where I am at, I’m really focusing on body love (at any shape and size). And that’s where it can get a little confusing… just because I am working towards getting as fit and healthy as I can (it’s not about being small/skinny anymore) doesn’t mean I don’t love my body as it is, ya know?

      I’ll be sure to keep posting about it. It helps me write it all out.

      And any “diet” that cuts out coffee is just not for me. :)

Talk To Me!

